Heath
    Last Online
    11-04-2024
    Country
    England
    Car
    Supra TT/Panzer

Photography Advice

I know I could probably post on more photgraphy biased sites than this, but I know you lot better

I found yesterday that my camera struggled to focus on darker cars and of the blurred pics that I took, they were nearly all dark colours.

I shoot with a low shutter speed to get the background and wheel blur for movement and the sun was in and out yesterday like a yo-yo, but can anyone tell me what I am doing wrong?

Is it just that when the sun goes in, the shutter speed is too low to clearly focus on dark objects?

Thanks for reading and all advice will be gratefully received but please be gentle with me, for my technical knowledge of photography is self taught and pretty much zero

J

Name
    I
    Last Online
    07-03-2024
    Country
    United Kingdom
    Car
    Volvo V70

Canon (like all SLR manufacturers) use a phase-detection autofocus system. This relies upon focusing on a contrasted edge.

Which body is it you have, because that will alter my answer to your question?

Name
    Heath
    Last Online
    11-04-2024
    Country
    England
    Car
    Supra TT/Panzer

Quote Originally Posted by Isaac Sibson
    Canon (like all SLR manufacturers) use a phase-detection autofocus system. This relies upon focusing on a contrasted edge.

Which body is it you have, because that will alter my answer to your question?
    Thanks Isaac - it is the 20D.

J

Name
    I
    Last Online
    07-03-2024
    Country
    United Kingdom
    Car
    Volvo V70

Right, ok, same as mine.

The shutter speed used in the exposure has no bearing on the AF (but the incoming light level does, which can affect the shutter speed used. Point being that in a given lighting condition, AF is totally unaffected whether you're using 1/40th or 1/4000th).

The 20D employs two different types of focus sensor. The centre point and the others.